Our School

Our Governors

The governing body of St George’s Church of England First School and Nursery plays an active and integral part in supporting the leadership of the school and its pupils and to this end we work closely with the Senior Leadership Team. The governors bring a wealth of expertise and experience from a range of sectors including business, local government and education. Additionally, a number of governors have been parents or are parents of pupils at the school, ensuring that the governing body is able to perform its role as a critical friend in a professional and knowledgeable manner.

We are all committed to the school community and its pupils and the success of St George’s First School.

We have a joint responsibility to provide support and advice to the school and hold it to account for its educational achievements. We are committed to continual improvement and to ensuring a happy and safe environment for our pupils.

Our focus is always in the interest of the pupils and we welcome comments or views from interested stakeholders and we would be delighted to answer any questions or comments you may have. Most importantly, I hope the whole school and its stakeholders feel that the governors are always responsive to their contributions.  You can contact us by writing to the clerk to the governing body (Mrs Tina Green) at school or by emailing me at [email protected]

All those associated with St George’s First School value the excellent opportunities and supportive atmosphere that pervades every aspect of school life. This, together with the professionalism and dedication of the staff, the support of parents/carers, the governing body and strong links with the local community, ensure that St George’s offers the best possible start to a young person’s life.

I hope you enjoy learning more about our school as you take a look around our website.

Barbara Knight
Chair of Governors



Mrs B Knight (Chair, Co-opted)

Mrs G Kendrick (Vice-Chair, Foundation)

Reverend P Irving (Foundation)

Reverend A Davies (Foundation)

Mrs M Bradbury (Headteacher)

Vacancy (Local Authority)

Mrs T Koser (Co-opted)

Mrs G Teague (Co-opted)

Vacancy  (Parent)

Vacancy (Staff)

Vacancy (Clerk to Governors)

St Georges CE First School – Governors Details Website